Character Education in the 21st Century

 

from Education Week, Nov.14 2007

from Education Week, Nov.14 2007

I have always been a strong proponent of the value of character education in school. A large part of my role as Assistant Principal is dealing with student discipline issues, which can, at times, lead me to feeling quite cynical about human nature. I asked myself, the other day, if the rapid growth of social networking, multimedia  and web technologies has (or should have) an impact on character education. I can’t answer the question.  Good character is good character, right? Have web technologies changed our values? Maybe. I generally choose to look at technological developments as tools and yet, I do think that we are being shaped by our use of some of these tools and our standards for acceptable behaviour are impacted. What do you think? I’m very interested to know what others think.

 

I have used Character Counts!© as a valuable resource and recommend it (full disclosure: I am a trained character education trainer… by the Josephson Institute for Ethics, who developed Character Counts!©). I would also love to know about other tried and true resources for character education in school.

An interesting article related to this is, “Smart and Good Schools: A Paradigm Shift for Character Education”

One thought on “Character Education in the 21st Century

Leave a Reply

