Quick Post – Great ‘Support’ Advice for Parents AND Students!

ImageLinkedIn… I’ll give it a plug because that’s how I arrived at the article I want to share with the world, today! First, though, a little sidenote on how wonderful technology can be… A fellow admin colleague at Graded in BrazilBlair Peterson, Tweeted about an “Inside Higher Ed” article. I received the tweet (which had a link to the article) in my LinkedIn feed AND presto!

So… read the article!!! It brought tears to my eyes as I thought about my own children and the steps (and missteps) we take as parents. It’s easy to say… “accept people for who they are”. In fact, it’s simplistic because on one level we absolutely MUST accept others for who they are AND we must empower them to reach further than they think they can. This results in a constant tension between pushing our kids and accepting their efforts. I’ve heard some parents say, “I accept only your best effort” and that may be where the balance is.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Quick Post – Great ‘Support’ Advice for Parents AND Students!

Leave a Reply

